Eight Graces

Eight Graces deals with different kinds of survival stories involving gods and human beings. The Graces (Charites) are Aphrodite’s assistants who represent fertility and charm. There have been several versions and combinations of the Graces in different times and in different parts on Ancient Greece. If we consider them all, they are eight, each one with her own name. I introduce the Graces as independent and separate characters, but I also picture certain ever-changing uniform powers they build up together as a whole. My interpretation of the Graces seeks human and empowering figures in which people can easily recognise themselves. They symbolise the individual and diverse strengths and powers within each person.

Eight Graces
Eight Graces, 150 x 300 cm, 2017


Persuasion, 30 x 21 cm, 2017
Growth, 30 x 21 cm, 2017
Queen, 30 x 21 cm, 2017


Poseidon, 135 x 100 cm, 2017


Mirth, 91 x 61 cm, 2016
Good Cheer
Good Cheer, 91 x 61 cm, 2016
Splendor, 91 x 61 cm, 2016


Balance, 120 x 146 cm, 2016


Aphrodite and Holding
Aphrodite and Holding, 180 x 120 cm, 2016


Hestia and Protection
Hestia and Protection, 100 x 97 cm, 2016


Phoenix, 150 x 100 cm, 2015


Gathering, 140 x 93 cm, 2016


Roots, 150 x 100 cm, 2016



© Aino Keinänen